Science location

Interesting facts about the science location Duisburg

TeamDuisburg

In cooperation with the University of Duisburg-Essen, network partners (Center for Fuel Cell Technology, Fraunhofer Institute for Microelectronic Systems and Circuits, etc.) and the city of Duisburg, we are pushing Duisburg as a science location with an international reputation.

One example of this solidarity is the hydrogen association Hy.Region.Rhein.Ruhr, founded on 19.03.2021. The association is currently made up of 16 players from business, science and the city corporation. The content is the development of a regional and green hydrogen economy and the transformation of the coal-based energy system. Through our network and the bundling of national and perspective international forces in this association we want to make Duisburg a hydrogen hotspot in Germany and Europe.

We also cooperate in many other areas with the various scientific institutions in Duisburg, such as the University of Duisburg-Essen and the technology center that is being built in Wedau-Nord. The UDE departments in particular are also open to entrepreneurial enquiries, which can then be implemented in the form of funding programmes. This is proof of the business-oriented work of Duisburg as a science location.

Wissenschafts-
standort

Wissenswertes über den Wissenschaftsstandort Duisburg

#TeamDuisburg

Im Schulterschluss mit der Universität Duisburg-Essen, Netzwerkpartner*innen (Zentrum für Brennstoffzellentechnik, Fraunhofer Institut für Mikroelektronische Systeme und Schaltungen etc.) und der Stadt pushen wir Duisburg als Wissenschaftsstandort von internationalem Renommee.

Ein Beispiel für diesen Schulterschluss ist der am 19.03.2021 gegründete Wasserstoffverein Hy.Region.Rhein.Ruhr. Der Verein setzt sich aktuell aus 16 Akteuren der Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und aus dem Stadtkonzern zusammen. Inhalt ist der Aufbau einer regionalen und grünen Wasserstoffwirtschaft und die Transformation des kohleverstromenden Energiesystems. Durch unser Netzwerk und die Bündelung der nationalen und perspektivisch internationalen Kräfte in diesem Verein möchten wir Duisburg zu einem Wasserstoff-Hotspot in Deutschland und Europa machen. 

Außerdem kooperieren wir auch in vielen weiteren Bereich mit den verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Institutionen in Duisburg, wie der Universität Duisburg-Essen und dem Technologiezentrum, das in Wedau-Nord entsteht. Insbesondere die Fachbereiche der UDE sind auch offen für unternehmerische Anfragen, die dann in Form von Förderprogrammen umgesetzt werden können. Das belegt die wirtschaftsnahe Arbeit des Wissenschaftsstandorts Duisburg.